FAMILY TRADITIONS!!!

Pounded yam popularly known as ‘iyan‘ in the western part of Nigeria is like a staple food in my family. Especially every Sunday afternoon.
If you’re wondering where am from; Its Ekiti state.

When most homes are eating Sunday rice and stew, we are busy pounding yam.

Don’t worry, its not stressful at all.

We are used to it.

My father believes its the best and only food in the world required to make us grow and look healthy.

He believes it is superior to any other Yoruba food and claimed that the Igbo’s and Hausa eat it also.

Anyone who has never had pounded yam before, is surely missing something.

My father over emphasized that if I wanted my husband to love me the more …All I had to do was give him pounded yam.

My father can even eat stale pounded yam. The one we pounded the day before and still remains…

We usually eat it with vegetable soup or egusi, my dad’s favourite.

Either its a send forth party, birthday,anniversary or just a little celebration at home to rejoice over admission or a new job…

Pounded yam is on the menu.

We decided to break tradition on my sister’s last birthday party…guess what….we ate pounded yam the next day.

When I told my mum,I was going out on my first date,he asked the gentleman to take me to a restaurant where pounded yam was served.

I don’t know why my father loves it so much,probably he was trained that way or he believes the use of muscles involved makes the final result delicious…

I don’t care..

Trust me, we all can pound ,even our last born of thirteen, Picks up the pestle when it gets to his turn. We were trained quite early.

Am so certain, when my brothers eventually get married, they’ll continue the tradition…

As for me,…

Well…..I can’t say…

Maybe …..maybe not.

What’s your family tradition?

Comment below!

Published by loadedtimilehin

I'm gracemade,filled with ideas that work,I have answers to questions, chewing hard sentences,dissolving doubts by the power of Christ in me..

7 thoughts on “FAMILY TRADITIONS!!!

  1. Our Tradition in the family is to select a day of the week usually on sunday and clean up the whole house environment. O boy it’s mostly stressful. I just smile on Sunday now adays knowing I’m in skul where no tradition could hit me hard. If you know you know 😉😀😛

    Like

  2. our family tradition is also pounded yam but I try my best to escape when it’s time to pound even though I still get caught most of the time

    Like

Leave a comment